The Phelps Award

Vietnam Veterans Plaza Phelps AwardLinking different generations of military service is the spirit behind the Phelps Award, given annually by the Friends of the Vietnam Veterans Plaza.

The Phelps Award was designed by artist John Phelps, a Navy veteran who served during the Vietnam War.  In 2003, John Phelps began working with the Friends of the Vietnam Veterans Plaza on this award, resulting in the creation of a scuplted replica of a Vietnam era battle helmet.   The battle helmet is mounted on a handcrafted, green glass-block, inscribed with excerpts from Dear America: Letters Home from Vietnam also engraved on the New York City Vietnam Veterans Memorial.

The Friends of the Vietnam Veterans Plaza named their Honoree of the Year Award to recognize the service of John Phelps, and his son, Marine Corps Lance Cpl. Chance Russell Phelps.  Chance was killed in action while conducting combat operations west of Baghdad on April 9th, 2004.  He was 19 years old.


Presentation of the Phelps Award to Charles F. Bolden Jr.

2021 Phelps Award Recipient Charles F. Bolden Jr.

Presentation of the Phelps Award to Medal of Honor Recipient Paul Bucha by Bruce Mosler and FVVP board members Robert DiChiara and Douglas McGowan

2019 Phelps Award Recipient Paul W. “Buddy” Bucha

2018 Phelps Award Recipient Loree Sutton

FVVP Board Members gather with special guests

2017 Phelps Award Recipient Kenneth Fisher

2016 Phelps Award Recipient General John M. Keane

2016 Phelps Award Recipient General John M. Keane

Members of the US Navy pose with 2015 Honoree of the Year General David Petraeus, USA (Ret.)

2015 General David H. Petraeus

Jan Scruggs - Phelps Award

2014 Jan Scruggs

CEO Tom Ridge - Phelps Award

2013 CEO Tom Ridge

General Peter Pace - Phelps Award

2012 General Peter Pace

Fire Commissioner Salvatore J. Cassano - Phelps Award

2011 Fire Commissioner Sal Cassano

Police Commissioner Ray Kelly - Phelps Award

2010 Police Commissioner Ray Kelly

Arnold Fisher - Phelps Award

2009 Arnold Fisher

Donald Trump - Phelps Award

2008 Donald Trump

Ed Koch - Phelps Award

2007 Ed Koch

David Bronner - Phelps Award

2006 David Bronner

Rudy Giuliani - Phelps Award

2005 Rudy Giuliani